In the world of a driving instructor, many of “us” have seen and heard things taught to a student that makes your head turn 360′ degrees. Teaching and training an individual from nothing to something and watching them confidently drive down the road is one of the most gratifying experiences anyone can experience.
You, as a parent can share in that experience home schooling your child. You care more about your child than anyone! Who better to teach your teen? They’ll always be those sceptics out there pointing out the negatives. But remember, the positives out weigh those. So shall we begin, and find out who’s right?
Texas implemented a Parent Education Program on April 1 1997. The Parent Taught Driver Education Program is available to teenagers between the ages of 14 and 17. The parent, stepparent, guardian, grand-parent, etc. must have a valid TEXAS drivers license. The instructor’s license may not be suspended, revoked, forfeited in the past three years for traffic related violations. Furthermore, the instructor must be mentally stable please see Parent Taught Requirements.
What are the differences between the classroom, block and concurrent?
The entire program consists of a minimum of 32 hours of classroom instruction; 7 hours behind-the-wheel instruction and 7 hours of in car practice. The options for teaching all or portions of the program are detailed below:
Block Method: The student completes all 32 hours of classroom instruction of the program. The student is then eligible to test for an Instruction Permit. The student must obtain an Instruction Permit prior to advancing to the 14 hours of behind-the-wheel and in car practice.
Concurrent Method: The student is required to complete a minimum of 6 hours of the classroom instructions, contained in Module One, “Texas Driver Responsibilities – Knowing Texas Traffic Laws.” An overview of this information is provided in the Parent Taught Driver Education packet.
After completion of this portion of the classroom instruction, the student is then eligible to test for the Texas Instruction Permit and begin the 14 hours of driver training. The remaining 26 hours of classroom instruction are completed simultaneously with the behind-the-wheel and in car practic.
If a student selects the concurrent method but wishes to transfer to or from the Parent Taught Program or a TEA approved driving training school, all 32 hours of classroom insruction must be completed prior to any behind-the-wheel instruction.
No hours of instruction (classroom or behind-the-wheel) may be transferred between Parent Taught Program and a TEA approved driving training school.
No classroom instruction is permitted prior to receipt of the Parent Taught Driver Education packet. Any instruction prior to that time will not be accepted toward the required instruction time. No behind-the-wheel instruction or in car practice may be permitted until the student has been issued a Texas Instruction Permit. Driving without a license or permit on a public street or highway is a violation of state law. Any behind-the-wheel instruction prior to issuance of the Instruction Permit will not be accepted toward the required instruction or practice time.
Home Schooling Advantages
A. Time spent with your child (children). While teaching the lessons you’ll have the opportunity to become closer with your child. Another benefit is that YOU will become a better educated driver yourself, that will transfer over to your child. Remember, teens do watch how you drive.
B. Time saved driving back and forth dropping your child off and then picking them up for the classroom. The classroom consists of 2 hours a day, 3 or 4 weeks, either 4 or 5 days a week for 16 days. Not to mention the head ache of fighting traffic. Sometimes your classes can start or end at rush hour. That can be very stressful to a working parent.
C. The savings of Home Schooling are beneficial in todays economy. Home Schooling cost $20.00 for the packet at the Department of Public Safety. The cost of gas can be rather expensive as well. Staying at home is energy conserving along with the fact that your teaching in a safe environment.
D. You the parent get the Best of Both Worlds. You enjoy the benefits of having an instructor in their car, NOT yours. This is normal you say. But are you aware that YOU the parent are not allowed in a driving school car, normally. Well, not so IF your childs being Home Schooled. Your welcome in our car anytime.
The choice is simple. How much control do you as a parent want over your teens driver education? Are you comfortable and confident in the driving school you’ve selected? Do you know that they teach the TEA’s standards? Ask for referrals and what ever school you decide, ask your teen questions and have them show you what they learned that lesson. If they can’t show you what they learned than go to the school and ask them why your child is not learning.